PLEASE HELP - CROP PROBLEM URGENT

Some of the most common illnesses in chickens.

PLEASE HELP - CROP PROBLEM URGENT

Unread postby TURFEY » May 18th, 2009, 7:42 pm

Hi all,

I am a newbie to your site but hoping you might be able to hep me and my ex battery chicken - I have had her for 3 months now.

Yesterday I noticed Myrtle was sat down and hunched up in the outside run and so I went to and checked her and she walked off so I thought perhaps she was having a rest.

Well later in the day I checked the chicken house and she was tucked up in the nest box with her head down under her chin so to speak.

I picked her up and brought her in and her crop was hard.

Now I did not know what to do and so this is what I have read so far on the net and don't know where to go from here and thought someone could help me.

I gave her 2 syringes of water and massaged her crop.
I kept her in the kitchen - she had a watery poo about 5 minutes later
About 10 minutes later I gave her a syringe of olive oil and massaged the crop and it seems to loosen and soften but was still a lump.

I left her for a few minutes and then I picked her up, turned her upside down and massaged her crop.
She brought up a lot of brown water and one piece of sweetcorn - it did not smell at all and then I gave her a little water.

I placed her back into the house where she settled down for the night.

This morning the crop was still quite full but not hard, her breath is not smelly and so we brought her in and gave her a syringe of water.

She has been out with the others today and when I checked her this evening her crop feels gritty if that makes sense.

What do I do now - shall I take her to the vet
Do I seperate her for a few days and give her fresh water and live yogurt
Do I give her white maggots to clear the blockage
There are so many things on the net - do this, don't do this and I just want to do what is best for my lady and I don't want to loose her.

Please help

Kelly
TURFEY