Constipated hen!

Get help quickly from members online

Constipated hen!

Unread postby Heather. » January 15th, 2008, 3:11 pm

Hi, I am new to the Poultry Garden site, and have been advised that this is a really good site for friendliness and information! I wonder if someone has some advice regarding a constipated hen, she's ex intensively farmed, and her friends that came with her are fine, but she has problems sometimes! I bathed her for 30 mins on Sunday, and she's resting in an stable on a corn diet, as i read this was best? Today she has started sounding somewhat as if she's straining again, and i want to cure her once and for all, if possible. Sorry to have such a delicate subject for my first posting, but you know how it is with poultry!
Look forward to communicating with someone, Cheers, Heather.
Heather.

Re: Constipated hen!

Unread postby Anjela » January 15th, 2008, 3:24 pm

Yes, we know how it it. There is a constant worry about what goes in one end and then what comes out the other plus all the traumas with what goes on in the middle.

Sorry can't help but someone else will be along soon.

Welcome to the forum, and remember no question is silly if you don't know the answer :smt023
Anjela

Unread postby Rhode Runner » January 15th, 2008, 4:20 pm

Hello Heather welcome to The Garden :smt039 :smt039 Nice to have you here.

I don't think you were well advised to give her corn. Corn is not easily digested and tends to firm up droppings. What makes you think it is constipation? If it is the fact that she is not passing much poo it could be a stoppage in the crop. Check her crop in the morning. If it feels hard and you can feel the food in there the bird is crop bound. This is often caused by the bird eating long stringy grass that forms a ball in the gizzard.

Treatment for Crop Bound